A Note from Janet about Events at the US Capitol

Dear Friends of the GTPP,
Wednesday’s horrific and appalling assault on our nation’s Capitol shocked and saddened me. It is impossible to find the right words to express my disappointment and horror. However, 6 January 2021 clearly shows that the work of peacemakers and peace teachers is more important than ever here in America! On a positive note – I am certain that it will spur more people than ever to work for peace in America and in the greater Tacoma area!

Please note that, due to ramifications of the pandemic, the Board of the GTPP decided that we will not take nominations for a 2021 Laureate; 2020 Laureate Marilyn Kimmerling will remain as Laureate for 2021. We encourage you …

a) to be “on the look-out” for this year’s peacemakers and peace teachers as potential nominees for the 2022 GTPP Laureate, and

b) to submit your nominations next January through March.

This fall, as we hopefully return to a more “normal” schedule, GTPP will celebrate Marilyn Kimmerling at our Laureate Recognition Banquet, and she will travel to Norway in December for the Nobel Peace Prize.

I thank God for each of you.
We need more of you.

The mission of the Greater Tacoma Peace Prize:
“In the firm belief that peace begins locally, the Greater Tacoma Peace prize recognizes, supports and advances peace-building and peacemaking by local citizens and institutions and for those they impact, in order to further promote, achieve and sustain peace, justice and reconciliation at home and abroad.”

The GTPP Board of Directors
Tom Heavey, Founder
Lisa Ottoson
Clare Petrich
Janet L. Ruud, President
Ksenija Simic-Muller
Tonia Simpson, Secretary
Carol Snyder, Treasurer
Willie C. Stewart, Sr.